Back to the list

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) unveils the recipient of its 2022 fellowship in collaboration with the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation

Press release


The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR), the Council of Managers of National Antarctic Programs (COMNAP) and the International Association of Antarctica Tour Operators (IAATO) have marked Antarctica Day by announcing the recipients of this year’s Antarctic Fellowships. The annual Antarctic Fellowships are an investment in the professional development of talented early career researchers and aim to further the understanding of human presence in Antarctica.

The SCAR Fellowship Programme is designed to encourage the active involvement of early-career researchers in furthering our understanding of Antarctica. We are pleased to announce the 2022 Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation SCAR Fellowship. This is the first SCAR Fellowship to be funded as part of the Polar Initiative

The 2022 Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation SCAR Fellowship is awarded to Hanna Yevchun from the State Institution National Antarctic Scientific Center, Kyiv, Ukraine. She will visit the British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge, UK, for her project entitled "Remotely detecting and mapping biodiversity in Antarctica using VHR satellite and UAV data". The project aims to assess the effectiveness of different techniques for semi-automatic or automatic mapping of the main Antarctic plant communities, as well as penguin and kelp gull nesting sites.

SCAR has been offering scientific Fellowships to early career scientists since 2003. The Fellowships support the scientific goals of SCAR, enabling the early career researchers to join a project team from another country, opening up new opportunities and often creating research partnerships that last many years and over many Antarctic research seasons.

Since 2003, 79 SCAR Fellowships have been awarded.

Have a look at the webpage for tips how to prepare your Fellowship application and testimonial from our past Fellows.