Back to the list

The International Arctic Science Committee and the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation announce the recipients of their joint fellowship program 2023


The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) and the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation are pleased to announce the two inaugural recipients of their joint Fellowship Program developed in the framework of the The Polar Initiative.


The IASC Fellowship Program was established in 2014 and engages early career researchers (ECS) in the work of the five IASC Working Groups: AtmosphereCryosphereMarineSocial & Human, and Terrestrial.  The program provides opportunities for early career scientists to become involved in leading-edge scientific activities at a circumarctic and international level, to build an international network, and to develop management skills. IASC is very excited to partner with the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation on expanding this Fellowship Program by offering additional joint fellowships in the coming years.


The two inaugural fellows selected as part of the Polar Initiative with the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation for the 2023 program are:


  • Dr. Archana Dayal, postdoctoral researcher at Aberystwyth University in the United Kingdom working on a postdoc project on „Are there perennial and light-independent microbial processes on supraglacial ecosystems?“. Her research focuses on glacial ecosystem, biogeochemistry and microbial ecology. Archana was selected to work on the IASC Terrestrial Working Group.
  • Dr. Eda Ayaydin, a teaching fellow in International Politics at the University of London Institute in Paris (France). Her research focuses on Arctic geopolitics, Indigenous politics, sovereignty and governance. Eda is about to finish her PhD and has been selected to work in the IASC Social and Human Working Group.


Learn more about the IASC Fellowship here and also the other recipients of the IASC Fellowship Program 2023.